

Roy Cooper, Governor Erik A. Hooks, Secretary Robert A. Evans, Chairman Diane Barber-Whitaker, Interim Executive Director

Racial and Ethnic Disparities Subcommittee Meeting
Virtual Meeting via WebEx
1201 Front Street
Raleigh, NC 27609
Thursday, April 22, 2021
11:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.

Attendees: Kelly Andrews, Dr. Darren Beneby, Craig "Pete" Davis, Sharif Deveaux, Vicki Foster, Dr. Johnathan Glenn, Deena Hayes-Green, Dr. Susan McCarter, Dr. Lorraine Taylor, Dr. Rodney Trice, Kweli Rashied-Henry, Johnny Wilson.

Non - Attendees: Derrick Anderson, Victor Maynard, Lindsay Welch, Nisha Williams, Crystal Wynn-Lewis, David Addison.

GCC Staff: Diane Barber-Whitaker, Nicki Livingston, Toni Lockley, Adonicca McAllister, Jaysia Noels.

Call to Order:

Dr. Lorraine Taylor called meeting to order at 1:00 P.M.

Review and Approval of Minutes:

Dr. Lorraine Taylor called attention to the meeting minutes for January 21, 2021. Dr. Susan McCarter moved to approve minutes; Johnny Wilson seconded. The minutes were approved by the RED Subcommittee members.

Reminders:

Ethics: The General Statue, Chapter 138A-35, and other provisions of the State Government Ethics Act/Recusal.

GCC Staff Update:

Adonicca McAllister reviewed and shared information regarding the following: Three-Year Planning Updates, Title II Call Update, and SAG Allocation.

2021 RED Application Review:

Adonicca McAllister reviewed the applications/scores with the RED Subcommittee.

Mailing Address:

4234 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699-4234

www.ncdps.gov/gcc



Office Location: 1201 Front Street Raleigh, NC 27609

Phone: 919-733-4564 Fax: 919-733-4625

An Equal Opportunity Employer

2021 RED Application Scoring:

Dr. Susan McCarter moved that the FY21 RED priority applications be approved by the RED for funding consideration by the Juvenile Justice Planning Committee. Dr. Lorraine Taylor seconded the motion. The RED voted on funding recommendations for FY21 RED priority applications. The motion passed with 12 votes in favor, 0 against, 2 abstention. Refer to Attachment Number 3/RED Subcommittee Roll Call.

Old Business: None

New Business: None

Adjournment:

Dr. Lorraine Taylor moved to adjourn the meeting; Dr. Susan McCarter seconded. Dr. Lorraine Taylor adjourned the meeting at 3:00 P.M.

Meeting Minutes taken by Jaysia Noels

Attachments:

- 1. RED Agenda
- 2. RED Subcommittee meeting minutes from January 21, 2021
- 3. RED Subcommittee Roll Call

Roy Cooper, Governor Erik A. Hooks, Secretary Robert Evans, Chairman Caroline C. Valand, Executive Director

Children's Justice Act Task Force

Virtual Meeting Via WebEx 1201 Front Street Raleigh, NC 27609

Thursday, January 7th, 2021 1:00 pm -3:00 pm

1.00 n m - 1.10 n m	Welcome – Overview of Meeting	Wendy Sotolongo, Chair
1.00 p.m. – 1.10 p.m.	Welcome - Overview of Miceing	Wellay Bolololigo, Chair

Introductions

1:10 p.m. – 1:20 p.m. Approval of 10.8.20 Minutes CJA Task Force

1:20 p.m.- 1:40 p.m. DSS Update TBD

1:40 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. Update on Currently Funded Projects Toni Lockley, GCC

2021 Applications - GEMS
CJA Grantees' Progress Update
December CJA Quarterly Call

2:00 p.m. – 2:30 p.m. Children's Justice Act Presentation Lauren Fischman, MSW

Child Welfare Program Specialist Office on Child Abuse and Neglect Children's Bureau/ACYF/ACF/HHS

2:30 p.m. – 2:45 p.m. CJA Membership CJA Task Force

2:45 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. New Business CJA Task Force

3:00 p.m. Adjourn

MAILING ADDRESS: 4234 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699-4234



1201 Front Street Raleigh, NC 27609 Phone: 919-733-4564 Fax: 919-733-4625 Roy Cooper, Governor Erik A. Hooks, Secretary Robert Evans, Chairman Caroline C. Valand, Executive Director

Children's Justice Act Task Force Virtual Meeting Via WebEx 1201 Front Street Raleigh, NC 27609 Thursday, January 7th, 2021 1:00 pm -3:00 pm Meeting Minutes - DRAFT

Attendees: Vicki Foster, Wendy Sotolongo, Kristine Sullivan, Jennifer Evans, Christy Malott, Emi Wyble, Cindy Bizzell, Keisha Crawford, Victor Maynard, Rhonda Morris, Judge Cureton, Kella Hatcher, Deborah Flowers.

GCC Staff: Nicki Livingston, Toni Lockley, Adonicca McAllister, Jaysia Noels, Caroline Valand, Diane Barber-Whitaker

Call to Order:

Chair Sotolongo called meeting to order at 1:03 p.m.

Review and Approval of Minutes:

Chair Sotolongo called attention to the meeting minutes of October 8, 2020. Christy Malott motioned to approve minutes and Cindy Bizzell seconded. The minutes were approved by the Children's Justice Task Force.

Disability Rights - North Carolina Update:

Kristine Sullivan shared with the committee information pertaining to the current work of the Disability Rights of North Carolina.

GCC Staff Update:

Toni Lockley provided the committee with an update on currently funded CJA projects, 2021 CJA grant applications, and the progress of CJA grantees. There was also an update on the December CJA Quarterly Call.

Children's Justice Act Presentation:

Lauren Fischman reviewed information on how the State of North Carolina continues to develop, establish, and operate programs to improve the investigation and prosecution of child abuse and neglect cases.

CJA Membership Update:

Chair Sotolongo made the Task Force aware that the committee is fully staffed with all required positions except parent advocate member. She solicited team input and sought recommendations for a person to fulfill this role on the committee.

New Business: None

Old Business: None

Adjournment:

MAILING ADDRESS: 4234 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699-4234

www.ncdps.gov



OFFICE LOCATION:

1201 Front Street Raleigh, NC 27609 Phone: 919-733-4564 Fax: 919-733-4625 Chair Sotolongo adjourned meeting at 2:50 p.m.

Meeting minutes taken by Jaysia Noels

Attachments:

- CJA Committee meeting minutes from October 8, 2020
 CJA Committee Meeting Agenda
- 3. CJA Themes Presentation
- 4. Task Force and Three-Year Assessment
- 5. GCC Presentation

April 22, 2021 Meeting

If your name is not checked during the roll call, we may not be able to hear you. Please comment in the chat box or send an email to GCC_Admin@ncdps.gov to confirm your attendance.

Mr.	Derrick	Anderson	
Ms.	Kelly	Andrews	V
Dr.	Darren	Beneby	V
Mr.	Sharif	Deveaux	4
Ms.	Vicki	Foster	V
Dr.	Johnathan	Glenn	V
Ms.	Deena	Hayes-Green	\checkmark
Mr.	Victor	Maynard	
Dr.	Susan	McCarter	V
Dr.	Lorraine	Taylor	V
Mr.	Lindsay	Welch	
Ms.	Nisha	Williams	
Mr.	Johnny	Wilson	V
Ms.	Crystal	Wynn-Lewis	
Dr.	Rodney	Trice	V
Mr.	Craig "Pete"	Davis	V
Chief	David	Addison	
Ms.	Kweli	Rashied-Henry	~